I just got back from 7 straight days of ceremonies. It was exhausting but extremely gratifying at the same time. I have been helped in many ways and doing these activities gives me the opportunity to give back. This is the backbone of all my repatriation work, being active and part of my tribe’s traditions gives me the knowledge and perspective from the Indian side of things to help museums work on repatriations. These are not long lost ceremonies and the people practicing them are not a vanished race. Both are alive and well, and need to be respected.

Sitting in my office, it was almost surreal to think I spent a week in the woods, outdoors the whole time, utilizing the items I see in summaries and in museum collections. There was dozens of calls, over a hundred emails and a pile of mail, but that’s okay. The priorities are taken care of, everything else takes care of itself.

