I am very lucky to have a job that allows me to research my tribe’s rich history and at the same time, take steps to preserve it. Preservation comes through repatriation, but it also comes through educational opportunities, presentations and general interaction with the community. Just today an elder came to my office to tell me stories. He found out I did research and came to share some family stories. These oral histories are a vital element to any tribal community.

The point of this blog post is how crucial it is to have tribal support to make serious headway. I would never be able to do this on my own, paying for long distance calls, traveling, etc. I try not to take for granted these “little” things that make the work happen. In addition to having the job, I have top down support. From the tribal chairman all the way to my director, there is support for what I do. This makes a huge difference, in a very positive way.

