This fall, two reburials will occur in Michigan. These are from two dispositons I help work on. I am very much looking forward to seeing the final steps taken to lay these ancestors to rest. Both of these dispositions were both started in 2007, with phone calls to each respective museum. Phone calls turned into face to face meetings, these meetings developed into understanding and that understanding resulted into an agreement that the remains should be returned for reburial. Both museums could be used as a model for consultation and I am very luck to have worked with such great people early in my repatriation work. Having these positive experiences gave me extra drive to complete the work and the experience to draw upon when working with more difficult museums.

I won’t be performing the reburial. Sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t. It doesn’t matter to me, as long as the remains are reinterred promptly and in a respectful manner. Just being there when the reburial occurs will be a wonderful experience. I have to remind myself that it’s great to have these old ones back, but others still wait.

