Preparing a repatriation claim has quite a few steps. First, you need to identify what museum has an item that is a candidate for repatriation. Then, what category does this item fall under, or it is human remains and if so, are they affiliated or CUI? With remains (I will discuss remains since the last two claims I have put out are for remains), for an affiliation claim you need to show your tribe occupying  the area where the remains are from and it helps if the remains are from the historic period. From what I have learned, it’s easier to go this route and try for a disposition with the pre-contact remains. To me, I don’t care how the remains are returned, repatriation claim or disposition, as long as they are returned. So, once you identify the area, you need to tie in your tribe to that area, and having historical documentation helps a lot. I use my meager library to the fullest extent. The sources I have may not be that plentiful, but they are credible and that is what counts. The right books, reports and documents can go a long way. Annuity payments rolls and Indian censuses are great tools, along with treaties. The actual research is the fun part, reading and learning. Once I am able to get enough information to show the Odawa in the right location, the writing starts. My first claim was 1 page, not they are up to 10 pages. More info, more writing. With the writing done, I send the claim over to my boss to proof read it. She makes corrections and I make the adjustments. Then it’s onto copying the sources I cited. That’s where I am at now, the final stage of copying sources. By tomorrow I should have this claim in the mail. I got slightly distracted today. A large maple tree fell near our tribal building and I scurried over there to cut up the wood and haul it away.

