Sitting here this morning and looking at the disaster area that is my desk, I decided to spend the day organizing my paperwork and getting everything in order for this fall. With this new repatriation manual project, along with our repatriation/disposition claims, I have to keep on task and having information easily accessible is a must.
My office also serves as a storage area for my department, it’s a pretty space here at LTBB. I have my desk, with my computer, printer, phone, books, file cabinets, etc. Then there are the boxes. Lots of boxes. We at LTBB had the a wonderful gift bestowed onto us in the last year. McClurken and Associates, a ethnohistorical consulting business in Michigan, gave us 40+ bankers boxes of historical documentation pertaining exclusively to LTBB Odawa. It spans from 1865 to the 1990s. It is an awesome collection, containing thousands of documents. I have just started to tap into this source for repatriation claims. One day I will help accession these into our system at LTBB, but that won’t happen anytime soon, but I look forward to when I will be able to sit down and read such a rich history of my people.
Now, it’s making my area work friendly. I have to seperate from my tasks for LTBB, for the Review Committee, consulting with other National Parks, other museums, local groups, schools and other tribes. I even have some decor to hang up in my office, I just need to get around to it.
Got to plan ahead for this fall, it’s going to be a busy one.

