Finally finished up the report for our Fall disposition. Copying sources and correcting typos isn’t my favorite, but it’s necessary. The majority of my time the next few weeks will be spent out doors, cleaning up cemeteries and cutting wood for ceremonies. Most of my NAGPRA tasks are “out of my control”, meaning they are in the federal register process (which I like, because that means a pickup is forthwith), awaiting final approval on a repatriation claim or a decision from a museum to go forward with a disposition. Everything will probably pick up at once, and we will be swamped this fall, but that’s okay, better to be busy then not busy at all.
There is quite a bit of diversity in my job and I like it. Next week I will be out cutting wood, gathering birchbark for fires, keeping an eye on the berries and cleaning up some burial grounds. Then I will be right back in the office, trying to find more books we can use, newspaper articles, etc. for future claims and other projects. We have alot of travel for the fall, with repatriations from Illinois, New York, New Jeresey, Wisconsin and Michigan. I want to complete these before starting on the next batch of repatriation claims. Winter is the time I get more of my research done. It’s facinating reading about families I grew up and reading about how my people lived and influenced american history. When ever I do research, I double check it against what my elders say. I don’t want to rely too heavily on the written records. Many times I find the written account are accurate, while at other times they are totally off base. Some historians credit the Odawas as great warriors, some say they were cowards and didn’t learn how to fight until they had contact with the Hurons. I tend to believe we were fighters.

